top of page


The GJA is accepting award nomination letters for our annual awards.  Recipients will be honored at our annual training conference during the award ceremony banquet dinner.  We are proud to highlight those individuals that strive to excel in work and life.  Prepare and submit your letter today in support of a person who you know deserves recognition.  The nomination committee will review and vote on each submission to declare a winner.

Required: All nomination letters must contain the professional agency or company letterhead.



Please contact Major Cash at the Forsyth County County Sheriff's Office at 770-781-2226 Ext. 4624.

Officer of the Year Award

Recognizes the Correctional Officer/Deputy Sheriff involved in daily detention activities; one exhibiting exemplary work performance, spirit, service, and accomplishments which warrant the utmost recognition.

Detention Supervisor of the Year Award

Recognizes a supervisor who exhibits leadership ability and managerial skills in dealing with subordinates, and has contributed significantly toward upgrading overall detention operation.

Paul J. Strickland Professional Service Award

Recognizes a professional service provider (i.e. health care provider, food service worker) who has contributed significantly toward the overall operation of the detention facility; one who has initiated implementation of new programs designed to improve existing services.

Detention Administrator of the Year

An award presented to an individual administrator for significant acts aimed at promoting the ideas and philosophy of the facility and upgrading standards for a positive change; i.e.availability of employee training; conformance to standards for adult detention facilities; and individual who has worked toward formulations and implementation of new programs; also for distinguished service over a period of years.

Training Officer of the Year

An award for excellence in peace officer training is presented to an individual to recognize their outstanding achievements and contributions within law enforcement training. The award encourages and fosters innovation, quality, and effectiveness.

bottom of page