top of page


Officer of the Year Award

Recognizes the Correctional Officer/Deputy Sheriff involved in daily detention activities; one exhibiting exemplary work performance, spirit, service, and accomplishments which warrant the utmost recognition.

Detention Supervisor of the Year Award

Recognizes a supervisor who exhibits leadership ability and managerial skills in dealing with subordinates, and has contributed significantly toward upgrading overall detention operation.

GJA Meritorious Award

Recognizes an individual who has made major contributions toward professionalizing detention operations, programs, or services; one who has demonstrated outstanding performances throughout the year or performed an exceptional deed which resulted in saving lives and/or protecting property.

Paul J. Strickland Professional Service Award

Recognizes a professional service provider (i.e. health care provider, food service worker) who has contributed significantly toward the overall operation of the detention facility; one who has initiated implementation of new programs designed to improve existing services.

Civilian Award

An award given by the GJA President which best represents time and service given to the organization in the areas of membership, planning, organizational efforts, or any worthwhile cause in the name of the Georgia Jail Association.

Detention Administrator of the Year

An award presented to an individual administrator for significant acts aimed at promoting the ideas and philosophy of the facility and upgrading standards for a positive change; i.e.availability of employee training; conformance to standards for adult detention facilities; and individual who has worked toward formulations and implementation of new programs; also for distinguished service over a period of years.

Training Officer of the Year

An award for excellence in peace officer training is presented to an individual to recognize their outstanding achievements and contributions within law enforcement training. The award encourages and fosters innovation, quality, and effectiveness.

GJA Awards History

bottom of page